Forschungsschwerpunkt Translationale Neurowissenschaften Mainz

Psychology (AEP)

Research group „General Experimental Psychology (AEP)“

We focus our research on 4 main topics: picture perception and virtual reality, time-to-contact estimation, cognitive correlates of mental illness, and human factors psychology.

For instance, we explore the effect of ambient lighting and color on the olfactory taste of wine.  We measure the so-called cone of gaze, the area of anothers gaze directions that are being considered to qualify as mutual gaze. We use the measure as an indicator and diagnostic tool for social phobia. We also work on establishing our measure with computer-generated avatars as a tool for therapy. The cone of gaze also exists for portrait paintings, even if the observers change their vantage point relative to the painting. This so-called Monalisa effect is used within an fMRI paradigm.

The simulator sickness project seeks to determine the visual ingredients and the general mechanisms of simulator sickness.

Finally, within the area of time-to-contact estimation, we explore how humans are able to make time-critical decisions on the basis of optic-flow information. Such information is essential when planning to overtake a car in road traffic or when executing precise motor actions, such as involved when catching a fast ball.

 

Head of group:

Prof. Dr. Heiko Hecht hecht@uni-mainz.de

 

Team-members:

Dr. habil. Daniel Oberfeld-Twistel oberfeld@uni-mainz.de

PD Dr. Klaus Landwehr landweh@uni-mainz.de

Dr. Nuno Teixeira desateixeira@uni-mainz.de

Dipl.-Psych. Behrang Keshavarz keshavarz@uni-mainz.de

Dipl.-Biol. Esther Brendel ebrendel@uni-mainz.de

Dipl.-Psych. Evgeniya Boyarskaya boyarska@uni-mainz.de

Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Baranowski baranowski@uni-mainz.de

M. Sc. & M. Phil. Clin. Psy. Benyne Palayoor Jos palayoor@uni-mainz.de

Dipl.-Psych. Oliver Daum daumo@uni-mainz.de

 

News

02. November 2017
NIC meeting
Renee Visser (University Camebridge) presents her work on “Imaging the dynamic nature of emotional memory” in the NIC meeting on Thursday, November 2nd at 12am. ...more
19. October 2017
NIC meeting
Benjamin Meyer (NIC) will present his new study investigating  “The neural networks of instructed fear” in the NIC meeting on Thursday, October 19th at 12 in the seminar room....more
14. September 2017
NIC meeting
Christian Paret (Central Institute of Mental Health, Mannheim) will give a talk on “Real-time fMRI neurofeedback from the amygdala: Feasibility, clinical application and brain mechanisms” in the NIC meeting on Thursday, September 14th....more